Searching for a Little Paranormal Inspiration

Yesterday was release day for An Officer and A Mermaid. It’s still on sale as of this posting for $0.99 or Free for Kindle Unlimited Subscribers. You can find it here:

http://goo.gl/#analytics/goo.gl/NTpkYR/all_time

Guess what that means? As a full-time writer, it means it’s time for me to get serious about the next manuscript. As part of the Blazing Indie Collective, the same wonderful writers who created the Falling In Deep collection that included An Officer and A Mermaid, I’ll be releasing a witch themed novella in October. Several members of the Paranormal Blog Hop are part of the collection, too. You can read their blogs here:

http://paranormallovewednesdays.blogspot.com

So many great witch stories, so little time.

On Monday, I went with my family to a promising location. Roan Mountain, the second highest peak East of the Mississippi, has lots of ghost stories associated with it. There’s the location of the old Cloudland Hotel, the legend of the singing angles and the story of Jane’s Bald.

When we reached the top, a witch story just plopped into my head. Somewhere between the Cloudland Hotel site and the Enchanted Forest, I had the beginnings of a story quite different from the ones I’ve heard my entire life. It’s going to be historical, spooky and romantic. A little gothic. Yum.

As a writer, it’s easy to get chained to my laptop and ignore the world around me. I’ve spent more hours in yoga pants than is allowable under the law. Sometimes inspiration is OUT THERE.

I’m so glad I went to Roan Mountain. Now, if y’all will excuse me, I have a spooky book to write.

Leave a Reply

